best css templates


Outstanding Arrowman that go above and beyond


R.D. Dunkin Leadership in Service Award

This award is designed to recognize those who go far beyond their immediate responsibilities as Arrowmen and by doing so have laid a path of excellence for other Arrowmen to follow. The award is named after R.D. Dunkin, who believed that young people can grow to exceptional strengths and reach their full potential with the right combination of leadership, education, mentorship, and love. R.D. Dunkin served as the Central Region Order of the Arrow Chairman for sixteen years, and is responsible for shaping the region structure and program into what it is today.  Nominations for this Award are due by March 3rd.  The nomination form can be found here.


Bear Scholarship


Richard "Bear" Eberly Changing Lives

Richard “Bear” Eberly was a Scout, a Scouter, and Arrowman for more than 60 years. He served Scouting as a Scoutmaster (Troop 311, former Wabash Valley Council, Terre Haute, IN); Lodge Adviser (the former Kickapoo Lodge, Wabash Valley Council, Terre Haute, IN); OA Section Adviser; and OA Area Adviser. Bear’s passion was helping youth to be successful in Scouting. Even after his passing in 2002, Bear has been helping youth Arrowmen experience their first Order of the Arrow Section Conclave. Through the sale of Bear’s very large Scouting memorabilia collection, an endowment was created as the Richard “Bear” Eberly Memorial Scholarship. Scholarships are provided to new Ordeal members of each lodge in the section to cover their registration fee at the section conclave.

Section Award of Merit

The Section Award of Merit was designed to honor those who have shown outstanding leadership and service embodying the spirit of the Scout Oath and Law to the section, councils, and lodges of the section. The Section Award of Merit was in use until 2015, when the Council of Chiefs elected to begin presenting the R.D. Dunkin Leadership in Service award instead. Past recipients of the award are listed below.

Year                                                                                                           Name
1978Mark Rutherford, David Eikman
1979Jan "Rusty" Barrell, Richard "Bear" Eberly, Joff Osterman, Art Roth
1980Mark Podgorski, Terry Hasty
1982Craig Kliger, Robert Dalrymple, John Perry, Dan McNeely
1983David Harnish, Cary Dyson, Gordon Springer, Jack Zirkle
1984Scott Minor, Tom Bassett
1985James B. Anderson, Phillip Deardorf, Mark Jenkins
1987Tony Steinhardt III, George Nelson
1988Doug Nelson, John Davis
1990Robert Rylicki, Kevin Hobbs
1991Michael Van Hoover, Charle Bryant
1992Jeff Holladay, Dale Siefker
1993John Barnes, Jay Copra, Darren Norrington
1994Brett Higgins, Chad Minor
1995Bill Godsworthy, Nick George
1996Alex Rhodes
1997PJ Hentrich, Gordan Evans
1998David Yoder
2000Craig Tuttle
2001Jason Floyd, Steve Dupaix
2003Troy Oliviera, Doug Seaborne, Charles Lehman
2004Andy McKillip, Sara Seaborne
2005Tim Goth, James Stolt
2006Ryan Eiteljorge, Jeff Hotchkiss, Mike Peters
2007Duane Thormhalen
2008Aaron Ware, Dennis Laffin, Dale Stelting
2009Ken Brooks, Bryan Shaffy
2010Andrew Byers, Alyx Parker, Ryan Easterling, Chris Taylor
2011Andrew Byers, Rex Banter, Matt Kaufman
2012Michael Weber
2014Joey Dierdorf, Logan Greene, Mary Musik, Steve James
Showing entries (filtered from total entries)